Don’t Offer People False Hope

Real comfort is more thank thinking the right things in times of trouble. It involves having my identity rooted in something deeper than my relationships, possessions, achievements, wealth, health, or my ability to figure it all out. Real comfort is found when I understand that I am held in the hollow of the hand of the One who created and rules all things. The most valuable thing in my life is God’s love, a love that no one can take away. When my identity is rooted in him, the storms of trouble will not blow me away. …

This is the comfort we offer people. We don’t comfort them by saying that things will work out. They may not.

… Giving hope is more than convincing people that things will get better, or helping them decide what to do. Giving hope introduces them to a Person.

Paul Tripp, Instruments in the Redeemer’s Handspg 151-152, 157.

Leave a Reply

